Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Saint Lucia Centre 2016 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
Women in Politics in Saint Lucia

Women acquired the right to vote and to become members of parliament since universal suffrage was attained for Saint Lucia 1951. The low visibility of women continues to be characteristic of Saint Lucian political life. Whereas women are always at the forefront vocally supporting their parties, and in one case leading their party into an election, the parliamentary representation remains minimal.

Mrs Heraldine Rock was the pioneer for women entering politics in Saint Lucia. Rock became St Lucia’s first female Member of Parliament when she won the election for the Castries South East constituency in 1974.  She who was also the first woman to serve as a Minister of Government.

In 1997, four women contested the general election with two candidates for the Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP), one for the United Workers’ Party (UWP), and one independent.  Both of the SLP candidates - Sarah Flood-Beaubrun and Menissa Rambally – were successful in the election, with Flood-Beaubrun unseating Dr. Vaughan Lewis, political leader of the UWP in Castries South.  Winning the Castries South East seat at age 21, Rambally had the distinction of being the youngest elected Member of Parliament.  Both Flood- Beaubrun and Rambally were re-elected in the 2001 election.

The lone UWP woman candidate in the 1997 race was 26-year old Leonne Theodore, a para-legal worker in a Castries law firm and a part-time law student at the University of the West Indies. Despite her youth Theodore was a veteran UWP activist, having served for years in its youth arm.  Independent candidate Lydia Harraksingh had expected to be the UWP candidate to replace John Compton in Micoud-South, but after a contentious selection process, the party favoured educator Arsene James. Refusing to bow to the Party’s ruling, Harraksingh registered as an independent candidate.

In October 2000, Dr. Morella Joseph became the first woman to lead a political party after being elected leader of the United Workers Party following the unexpected resignation of Dr. Vaughan Lewis.  In the 2001 election she unsuccessfully contested the Babonneau seat. 

In 2001, nine women were nominated for the elections, the largest number ever, beating the four who contested in 1997. The UWP fielded four women, the National Alliance three and the ruling SLP two.  In that election, 21-year-old Esther Lee was nominated by the National Alliance for the Castries Central seat.  Her mother, Jacintha Annius-Lee, was nominated by the National Alliance for the Castries North seat which is adjacent to Castries Central. They became the first ever mother and daughter to contest an election in the country.

More recently, Mrs. Jeannine Compton-Antoine was the lone female in the Ninth Parliament, being elected in the 2007 by-election for Micoud North after her father, Sir John Compton, had passed away one year after winning the 2006 general election.

In 2011, for the first time, three women were elected to the Tenth Parliament - Emma Hippolyte, Alvina Reynolds, and Dr. Gale TC Rigobert.

In addition to elected MPs, a number of women have entered the Saint Lucian Parliament through the Senate, with a few becoming members of the Cabinet.  These include Lorraine Williams who served as Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs from 1992 to 1997; and Tessa Mangal who was Minister of Commerce, Industry, and Consumer Affairs from 2008 to 2011.


The Hon. Honourable Judith Stephanie Jones-Morgan is the Attorney General of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.  She has been serving in that post since 29 March 2001.  Trinidadian by birth , Mrs. Jones-Morgan was called to the Bar of England and Wales in 1990 and is a member of the Honourable Society of the Middle Temple.  She has also been called to the Bar of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago respectively.  The Honourable Judith Stephanie Jones-Morgan has been working in the Public Service of St. Vincent and the Grenadines since 1992.  Prior to becoming Attorney General, she served as Crown Counsel, Senior Crown Counsel, Solicitor General (Ag.), Registrar of the High Court and Director (Ag.) of Public Prosecutions.


In terms of the executive branch of government, Dame Pearlette Louisy has the distinction of being Saint Lucia’s first and only female Governor-General.  Sworn in on 17 September 1997, Dame Pearlette is the country’s longest serving Governors-General.


Seven women are among the total of 40 candidates who have been nominated to contest St. Lucia’s general elections on 6 June 2016.  Two women – incumbents Emma Hippolyte for Gros Islet and Alvina Reynolds for Babonneau – have been nominated on a St Lucia Labour Party ticket.   The main opposition United Workers Party has put up four women candidates - Dr Gale Rigobert, Sarah Flood-Beaubrun, Mary Isaac, and Fortuna Belrone for Micoud North, Castries Central, Castries South, and Castries East, respectively.  The other woman candidate is independent, Jeanine Compton-Antoine for Micoud North.


SLP = Saint Lucia Labour Party; UWP = United Workers Party; IND = Independent; *Incumbent; **Political Leader

Abstracts from Women in Anguilla Elections: A Retrospective Of The Women Who’ve Sought Political Office In Anguilla by Colville L. Petty, OBE.
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 Country Profile
 Government Structure
 Election Basics
 Parliament of Saint Lucia
 Political History and Dynamics
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Women in Politics
 Your Right to Vote
 Deciding Which For Candidate to Vote
 Teacher Resources
 Glossary of Election Terms
SLP Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP)
UWP United Workers Party (UWP)
Download Saint Lucia Labour Party Manifesto 2016
Download United Workers Party Manifesto 2016
Voter Lookup Saint Lucia Voter Lookup
How to Vote How to Vote in Saint Lucia
Knowledge Centre Saint Lucia Knowledge Centre
Learn more Governors-General
Learn more Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us