Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The Parliament of St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Parliament | House of Assembly | Heads of State | Heads of Government | Cabinet | Leaders of the Opposition

The Parliament of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is modelled on that of the British Parliament.  However, whereas Britain has two Houses of Parliament, the House of Commons and the House of Lords and together with the Queen, make up Parliament; the St Vincent and the Grenadines Parliament is comprised of the House of Assembly and the Governor-General.

At present, the House of Assembly consists of 23 Members.  These include 15 elected Members (Representatives) six Senators, the Attorney General (a Civil Servant) and the Speaker.  The membership of the House may vary,  because, as is the case now, the Attorney-General, who is a Public Servant, and the Speaker of the House, may be elected from outside of the House.  In any case they are always regarded as members of the House.

Speakers of the House of Assembly
The present Speaker of the House, is the Hon. Hendrick Alexander who is currently the longest serving Speaker to be elected in the House of Assembly. The Speaker is not an elected Member, nor is he a Senator.  Neither the Speaker nor his Deputy can be a Minister of Government.
Name Entered Office Left Office
Hon. N.S. NANTON 25 May 1961 -
Hon. Emanuel Fatima ADAMS - 24 May 1966
Hon. Othniel Rudolph SYLVESTER, CMG, QC 15 Sep 1966 7 Apr 1967
Hon. Charles St .Clair DACON 26 Jun 1967 8 Mar 1972
Hon. Joseph Lambert EUSTACE 4 May 1972 23 Sep 1974
Hon. Arthur Theophilus WOODS 2 Jan 1975 7 Nov 1979
Hom. Edward A.C. HUGHES Dec 1979 1981
Hom. Dennie WILSON 1981 Jun 1984
Hon. Olin DENNIE

Mar 1984

19 Sep 1985
Hon. L.A. Douglas WILLIAMS Sep 1985 Apr 1989
Hon. Montgomery MAULE, MP May 1989 18 May 1998
Hon. Nolwyn McDOWALL, MP 9 Jul 1998 5 Mar 2001
Hon. Henrick ALEXANDER, MP 17 Apr 2001 7 Nov 2015
Hon. Jomo S. THOMAS, MP 29 Dec 2015 Present
source: http://www.assembly.gov.vc
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the St. Vincent and the Gernadines Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Throne Speeches
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us