Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The House of Representatives of Trinidad and Tobago
Parliament | House | Senate | Heads of State | Heads of Government | Cabinet | Leaders of the Opposition
Eleventh Parliament | Tenth Parliament | Speakers
In Trinidad and Tobago, the Speaker, or in his absence the Deputy Speaker, presides over each sitting of the House of Representatives, acts as Chairman of Committees of the House and enforces the observance of all rules for preserving order in its proceedings.
Speakers of the House of Representatives
Name Term Served Date Elected
John.L.H.W.SAVARY 1950 - 1955
8th Legislative Council

Speaker Savary proceeded on pre-retirement leave in March 1955 and died shortly afterward. The Deputy Speaker, Hon. A.S. Sinanan (the Member for Naparima) presided until the Legislative Council was dissolved on 25 May 1956

20 October, 1950
Edgar Mortimer DUKE 1956 - 1961
9th Legislative Council
28 October, 1956
Arnold THOMASOS 1961 - 1981
1st Independent Parliament
2nd Independent Parliament
3rd Independent Parliament
1st Republican Parliament
29 December, 1961
Matthew RAMCHARAN 1981 - 1986
2nd Republican Parliament
27 November, 1981
Nizam MOHAMMED 1986 - 1991
3rd Republican Parliament
12 January, 1987
Occah SEAPAUL 1992 - 1995
4th Republican Parliament
13 January, 1992
Hector McCLEAN 1995 - 2000
5th Republican Parliament
27 November, 1995
Rupert GRIFFITH 2001 - 2002
6th Republican Parliament
12 January 2001
Barendra SINANAN 2002 - 2007
8th Republican Parliament
17 October 2002
Barendra SINANAN
2007 - 2010
9th Republican Parliament
17 December 2007
2010 - 2015
10th Republican Parliament
18 June 2010
11th Republican Parliament
23 September 2015
source: http://www.ttparliament.org
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Trinidad and Tobago Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of State
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Presidential Addresses to Parliament
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us