Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The House of Assembly of Barbados 1951-1956
Parliament | House | Senate | Governors-General | Prime Ministers | Cabinet | Opposition Leaders | Chief Justices
Speakers of the House of Assembly | Select House of Assembly
The House of Assembly has 24 directly elected Members from 12 double member constituencies.
Distribution of Seats by Party
  Barbados Labour Party 15
  Barbados Electors Association 4
  Congress Party 2
  Independents 3
As of 29 Nov 1954: BLP-14; BEA-4; DLP-1; CP-2; IND-3
Distribution of Seats by Gender
  Men 23
  Women 1
Election Date
Thursday, 13 December 1951
First Sitting of Parliament
Tuesday, 18 December 1951
Dissolution of Parliament
Photo His Honour Kenmore Nathaniel Rhystone HUSBANDS
Photo His Honor A.E.S. LEWIS
Deputy Speaker
source: http://www.barbadosparliament.com
  Photo Member's Name Constituency Party
  Photo Ernest Deighton MOTTLEY City of Bridgetown Barbados Electors Association
  Photo Atholl Edwin Seymour 'T.T.' LEWIS
Deputy Speaker
Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Mencea Ethereal COX St Michael Barbados Labour Party
  Photo T.O. BRYAN Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Cuthbert Edwy TALMA Christ Church Independent
  Photo Fred Carlton GODDARD
Leader of the Opposition (from 1 Feb 1954)
Barbados Electors Association
  Photo Wynter Algernon CRAWFORD St Philip Congress Party
  Photo James Christopher MOTTLEY Congress Party
  Photo Errol Walton BARROW St George Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Frederick Edward MILLER Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Owen Taylor ALLDER St John Independent
  Photo Victor Bovell VAUGHAN Independent
  Photo Grantley Herbert ADAMS
Premier (from 1 Feb 1954)
St Joseph Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Lloyd Ethelbert SMITH Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Ellsworth St. Aubyn HOLDER St James Barbados Labour Party
  Photo E.K. WALCOTT Barbados Electors Association
  Photo Edna Ermyntrude BOURNE St Andrew Barbados Labour Party
  Photo J.A. HAYNES Barbados Electors Association
  Photo John Eustace Theodore BRANCKER St Lucy Barbados Labour Party
  Photo L.A. WILLIAMS Barbados Labour Party
  Photo James Cameron TUDOR
(felected in 8 Nov 1954 by-election)
Democratic Labour Party
  Photo Kenmore Nathaniel Rhystone HUSBANDS 
St Peter Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Frank Leslie WALCOTT Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Ronald Grenville MAPP St Thomas Barbados Labour Party
  Photo Hugh Gordon CUMMINS Barbados Labour Party
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Barbados Knowledge Centre
 Chief Justices
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Throne Speeches
 Treaties & Agreements
 United Nations General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us