Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Electoral Districts Biographies Results Past Elections Voter Education
Trinidad and Tobago General Election Results - 24 May 1971
Parliament Building, Trinidad and Tobago

General Elections were held in Trinidad and Tobago on 24 May 1971 for all 36 seats in the House of Representatives.

Electoral System

The 36 members of the House of Representatives are elected in single-member constituencies by first-past-the-post voting. There is no fixed election date in effect in Trinidad and at this time; hence, the choice of election date is the prerogative of the Prime Minister.


On 22 April 1971, the Governor-General of Trinidad and Tobago issued Proclamation No. 7 of 1971 dissolving Parliament.

Political Parties & Candidates

Fifty eight candidates, put forward by three political parties, sought to canvass the votes of the electorate. The Governmental Party or People's National Movement, led by the outgoing Prime-Minister, Dr. Eric Williams, proposed candidates in the country's 36 constituencies; 8 were returned uncontested. The opposition parties represented by the Democratic Liberation Party, led by Bhadase Maraj, and the African National Congress, led by John Broome, proposed 21 and 7 candidates respectively. Lastly, 2 independent candidates also stood for election.


The electoral campaign was opened by decree, as provided for under the terms of the electoral law, at the beginning of May.

The main Opposition party, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), led by Vernon Jamada, leader of the Opposition in the preceding Parliament, had decided to boycott the elections in protest at Parliament's refusal to meet the electoral reforms the party requested: lowering of the voting age to 18, better kept electoral registers and replacement of voting machines by ballot boxes.

In a manifesto entitled " Perspectives for a New Society " the governing party (PNM) had taken over some of the themes propounded by the Black Power movement, i.e. setting up of co-opera

tives, contracting works policy and struggle against unemployment. The electoral campaign was calm compared to the pre-electoral period during which Black Power supporters had participated in a number of demonstrations; worthy of note was the hesitation of the different Opposition parties as regards a decision to participate in the voting.


While observers were expecting the Opposition to win some seats in Parliament, the Governmental Party was totally victorious and won the 28 contested seats; this party now held every seat in Parliament.

Dr. Williams set up the new Government on 28 May 1971.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 33.17%.

System First-past-the-post
Elected Members 36 single-member constituencies
Total Valid Votes 118,524
Invalid Votes 73
Total Votes Cast 118,597
Registered Voters 357,568
Voter Turnout 33.17%
Dissolution of House Thu, 22 Apr 1971
Nomination Day Fri, 14 May 1971
Polling Day Mon, 24 May 1971
First Meeting of Parliament Fri, 18 Jun 1971
Representation of the People Act Download report
Constitution Act Download report
  Party Code Votes Candidates Seats
Total % votes Change Number Change
  People's National Movement Winner PNM 99,723 84.14% +31.70% - 36 +12
  Democratic Liberation Party DLP 14,940 12.61% +12.61% - 0 -
  African National Congress AFC 2,864 2.42% +2.42% - 0 -
  Independent Candidates IND 997 0.84% +0.36-% - 0 -
  Total   118,524 100% - - 36 -
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1946
   General Election Results 1950
   General Election Results 1956
   General Election Results 1961
   General Election Results 1966
   General Election Results 1971
   General Election Results 1976
   General Election Results 1981
   General Election Results 1986
   General Election Results 1991
   General Election Results 1995
   General Election Results 2000
   General Election Results 2001
   General Election Results 2002
   General Election Results 2007
   General Election Results 2010
   General Election Results 2015
PNM - People's National Movement
PP - People's Partnership
ILP - Independent Labour Party
Download PNM 2015 Manifesto
Download PP 2015 Manifesto
Download ILP 2015 Manifesto
Download NNV 2015 Manifesto
Download TF 2015 Manifesto
Download THC 2015 Manifesto
Download Trinidad & Tobago Knowledge Centre
Learn more Presidents of Trinidad & Tobago
Learn more Heads of Government
Learn more Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
PNM= People's National Movement; PP=People's Partnership; ILP=Independent Labour Party; IND = Inpendent candidate; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Elections and Boundaries Commission of Trinidad and Tobago
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us