Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Electoral Districts Biographies Results Past Elections Voter Education
Suriname General Election Results - 25 November 1987
Suriname National Assembly

Parliamentary General Elections were held in Suriname on 25 November 1987 for all 51 seats in the National Assembly.

Electoral System

The 51 members in the unicameral National Assembly are elected from 10 constituencies on the basis of a party-list proportional representation system that involves preferential voting. The 10 electoral constituencies are coterminous with the ten administrative districts of Suriname. The National Assembly subsequently elects the President.


The 1987 general elections were the first since those of October 1977. Parliament was subsequently dissolved in the wake of the 1980 military coup d'Etat. The National Assembly polling was combined with that for municipal and provincial councils.

Political Parties & Candidates

For the Assembly seats, candidates were nominated by six political parties. Three of these - traditional ethnic groups - united to form the Front for Democracy and Development (FDD) coalition. They opposed the military-backed National Democratic Party (NDP).


The main issue addressed during the electoral campaign was the revival of the country's economy. The FDD also pledged to restore Suriname's friendly ties with the Netherlands.


Voting results gave the coalition, Front for Democracy and Development (an alliance of the National Party of Suriname, the Progressive Reform Party and the Party for National Unity and Solidarity), a landslide victory with 40 of 51 seats. The Progressive Reform Party received 16 of the seats, the National Party of Suriname received 14 and the Party for National Unity and Solidarity received 10.

The result confirmed the lack of popular support for military rule. Despite this outcome, as announced prior to the poll, the armed forces, led by Lt. Col. Desire Bourterse, continued to have a strong voice in the "revolutionary process" of governing.

The composition of the Council of State was announced on 4 December. On 12 January 1988, the National Assembly elected Mr. Ramsewak Shankar as President of the Republic.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 84.96%.

System Proportional Representation
Elected Members 51 seats in 10 multi-member constituencies
Total Valid Votes 172,130
Invalid Votes 4,895
Total Votes Cast 177,025
Registered Voters 208,356
Voter Turnout 84.96%
  Party/Alliance Code Votes Seats
Total % votes Number Change
  Front for Democracy and Development Winner FDO 147,196 85.50% 40 -
  National Democratic Party NDP 16,000 9.29% 3 New
  Progressive Workers' and Farmers' Union PALU 2,910 1.69% 4 +4
  Surinamese Labour Party SPA 2,704 1.57% - New
  Pendawa Lima PL 2,676 1.55% 4 -
  Partij Perbangunan Rakjat Suriname PPRS 664 0.39% - New
  Total   172,150 100% 51 +12
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1949
   General Election Results 1951
   General Election Results 1955
   General Election Results 1958
   General Election Results 1963
   General Election Results 1967
   General Election Results 1969
   General Election Results 1973
   General Election Results 1977
   General Election Results 1987
   General Election Results 1991
   General Election Results 1996
   General Election Results 2000
   General Election Results 2005
   General Election Results 2010
   General Election Results 2015
NDP - National Democratic Party
VHP - Progressive Reform Party
PL - Pertjajah Luhur 
ABOP - General Liberation and Development Party 
BEP - Brotherhood and Unity in Politics
NPS - National Party of Suriname
PALU - Progressive Workers' and Farmers' Union
DOE - Party for Democracy and Development through Unity
Download DRS 2015 Manifesto
Download V7 2015 Manifesto
Download VHP 2015 Manifesto
Download Suriname Knowledge Centre
Learn more Presidents of Suriname
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
The Independent Electoral Council Central Polling Authority
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us