Updated: View Site Map Site Map
  St Kitts and Nevis Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Constituencies Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 16 February 2015

General elections will be held in St. Kitts and Nevis on Monday, 16 February 2015.

On Friday, 16 January 2015, Prime Minister Dr Denzil Douglas announced that he had advised Governor General Sir Edmund Lawrence to dissolve the twin-island federation’s Parliament. Nomination DAy was later ser at Friday, 6 February 2015.

PM Douglas' St. Kitts and Nevis Labour PArty (SKNLP) is seeking a fifth consecutive term in office. The SKNL is being challenged by a historic coalition of three major parties, under the banner of Team Unity. The coalition, led by the country’s former finance minister and Laborite, Timothy Harris as well as the country’s former deputy prime minister under the Douglas government, Sam Condor under the Peoples Labor Party (PLP); The People’s Action Movement, (PAM) led by Li ndsay Grant and the ruling Nevis party, the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), led by Vance Amory, premier of the island of Nevis.

In December 2014, the SKNLP and NRP signed a Contract for Progress, which includes provisions for: deciding appointments to Cabinet, government boards and corporations based on the principle of equity and fairness; initiating dialogue for constitutional reform in order to increase political stability and strengthen democratic rule; and expanding the mandate and reach of the SIDF to further empower Kittitian and Nevisian nationals.

A total of 22 candidates are contesting the 2015 general election. The ruling St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) fielded eight candidates to the People’s Action Movement’s (PAM) six, while the People’s Labour Party (PLP) nominated two. On the island of Nevis, the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) and the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP) each put three candidates forward.

During the election campaign, the major parties focused on education, health care and job creation, as well as a proposal from Team Unity to exempt food and medicine from value added tax. 

On Saint Kitts, the People's Action Movement won four of the eight seats, whilst the Saint Kitts and Nevis Labour Party losing half their seats. Contesting their first elections, the People's Labour Party won one seat. On Nevis two seats were won by the Concerned Citizens' Movement and the third by the Nevis Reformation Party.

Voter turnout was 72.19%.

Prime Minister Denzil Douglas, who had been in power since 1995, conceded defeat. On 23 February, Dr. Harris was sworn in as new Prime Minister, becoming only the third person to assume the post since independence from Britain in 1983. 

Expand Map
Total Valid Votes 30,299
Invalid Votes 156
Total Votes Cast 30,455
Registered Voters 42,185
Voter Turnout 72.19%
Download Download
CARICOM Election Observers Statement Download report
Critical Dates
Dissolution of Parliament Nomination Day Polling Day
Friday, 16 January 2015 Friday, 6 February 2015 Monday, 16 February 2015
Summary by Party
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party SKNLP 11,897 39.27% 8 3
People's Action Movement PAM 8,452 27.90% 6 4
People's Labour Party PLP 2,723 8.99% 2 1
Concerned Citizens Movement CCM 3,951 13.04% 3 2
Nevis Reformation Party NRP 3,276 10.81% 3 1
Total Valid Votes 30,299 100% 22 11
Summary by Constituency
Constituency  Registered Voters SKNLP PAM PLP CCM NRP Valid Votes Invalid Votes Total Votes Voter Turnout
St. Christopher #1 5,036 1,727 1,731 - - - 3,458 21 3,479 69.08%
St. Christopher #2 4,740 1,758 1,660 - - - 3,418 15 3,433 72.43%
St. Christopher #3 3,265 1,348 - 1,076 - - 2,424 29 2,453 75.13%
St. Christopher #4 3,166 1,216 1,252 - - - 2,468 13 2,481 78.36%
St. Christopher #5 3,107 884 1,245 - - - 2,129 8 2,137 68.78%
St. Christopher #6 2,823 1,969 200 - - - 2,169 6 2,175 77.05%
St. Christopher #7 3,191 867 - 1,647 - - 2,514 22 2,536 79.47%
St. Christopher #8 5,753 2,128 2,364 - - - 4,492 13 4,505 78.31%
Nevis #9 6,127 - - - 2,033 1,715 3,748 20 3,768 61.50%
Nevis #10 1,393 - - - 754 306 1,060 3 1,063 76.31%
Nevis #11 3,584 - - - 1,164 1,255 2,419 6 2,425 67.66%
Total 42,185 11,897 8,452 2,723 3,951 3,276 30,299 156 30,455 72.19%
Elected Members of the National Assembly
The unicameral National Assembly was comprised of 11 elected members.
Constituency  Winning Candidate   Party
St. Christopher #1 LIBURD, Ian Patches   People's Action Movement
St. Christopher #2 LIBURD, Marcella A.   St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party
St. Christopher #3 MAYNARD, Konris   St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party
St. Christopher #4 GRANT, Lindsay Fitzpatrick   People's Action Movement
St. Christopher #5 RICHARDS, Shawn Kenneth   People's Action Movement
St. Christopher #6 DOUGLAS, Denzil Llewellyn   St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party
St. Christopher #7 HARRIS, Timothy Sylvester   People's Labour Party
St. Christopher #8 HAMILTON, Eugene Alastair   People's Action Movement
Nevis #9 BRANTLEY, Mark Anthony Graham   Concerned Citizens Movement
Nevis #10 AMORY, Vance Winkworth   Concerned Citizens Movement
Nevis #11 NISBETT, Patrice Dwight H.   Nevis Reformation Party
CCM = Concerned Citizens Movement; NRP = Nevis Reformation Party; PAM = People's Action Movement; PLP = People's Labour Party; SKNLP = St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party; IND = Independent Candidate; *incumbent; ** Political Leader
St. Kitts and Nevis Electoral Office
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 General Election 1952
 General Election 1957
 General Election 1961
 General Election 1966
 General Election 1971
 General Election 1975
 General Election 1980
 General Election 1984
 General Election 1989
 General Election 1993
 General Election 1995
 General Election 2000
 General Election 2004
 General Election 2010
 General Election 2015
CCM Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM)
NRP Nevis Reformation Party (NRP)
PAM People's Action Movement (PAM)
PLP People's Labour Party (PLP)
SKNLP St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP)
Team Unity Team Unity
Download St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party 2015
Download Team Unity 2015
Download St. Kitts & Nevis Knowledge Centre
Learn more St Kitts & Nevis Heads of State
Learn more St Kitts & Nevis Heads of Government
Learn more St. Kitts & Nevis Leaders of the Opposition
Learn more Premiers of Nevis
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us