Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Political Parties Electoral Districts Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 5 October 1992

General elections had last taken place in December 1985, and were normally due five years later. However, on several occasions, polling was postponed and the National Assembly’s term extended due to complications in the compilation of a new electoral register. A new list was finally approved by the Elections Commission in August 1992. On 29 August, Parliament was dissolved and the polling date set.

The parliamentary elections were held simultaneously with those for President of the Republic and local organs. On these several levels, the ruling People’s National Congress (PNC), in power since 1964 and led by incumbent President Desmond Hoyte, was mainly opposed by the left-wing People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and its veteran leader Cheddi Jagan. As in the past, the socialist PNC was supported by citizens of African origin and the PPP by those of Asian (especially Indian) stock. Dr. Jagan, Prime Minister before independence was achieved in 1966, had abandoned his formerly Marxist theories and, in the economic sector, favoured some private enterprise, particularly in the country’s biggest mineral and energy industries; at the same time, his policies emphasized workers’ rights and the national interest. The PNC stood by its free-market reforms and privatisation programme in order to attract foreign investment, and its strategists stressed Mr. Hoyte’s leadership qualities.

Voting procedures were monitored by foreign observers, including a large Commonwealth team and one headed by former US President Jimmy Carter. Following a somewhat violent campaign, polling day itself was disrupted by incidents such as looting. The observers nevertheless characterized the process as “free and fair”, for the first time since independence. Final results gave the PPP the narrowest of victories, as it won 32 of the 65 seats to 31 for the PNC. Mr. Jagan, as the nominated candidate of the party receiving the most votes under the proportional representation system, was sworn in as President on 9 October and, the following day, he appointed Mr. Sam Hinds, an Afro-Guyanese industrialist who was not a member of the PPP, as Prime Minister. The formation of the Cabinet was completed on 15 October. The new Government stated that its priorities included addressing the problem of the country’s significant external debt, reducing the cost of living and improving social services.

Voter turnout was 80.39%


Proportional Representation
53 elected seats
Total Valid Votes 303,176
Invalid Votes 5,666
Total Votes Cast 308,842
Registered Voters 384,195
Voter Turnout 80.39%
Dissolution of House Sat, 29 Aug 1992
Nomination Day -
Polling Day Mon, 05 Oct 1992
First Meeting of New Parliament Thu, 17 Dec 1992
Carter Centre Election Observers Preliminary Report Download report
  Political Group Code Votes % votes Seats
  People’s Progressive Party Winner PPP 162,058 53.45% 28
  People’s National Congress PNC 128,286 42.31% 23
  Working People’s Alliance WPA 6,086 2.01% 1
  The United Force TUF 3,183 1.05% 1
  Democratic Labour Movement DLM 1,557 0.51% -
  National Democratic Front NDF 68 0.02% -
  National Republican Party NRP 114 0.04% -
  People’s Democratic Movement PDM 270 0.09% -
  Union of Guyanese International UGI 134 0.04% -
  United Republican Party URP 1,343 0.44% -
  United Workers Party UWP 77 0.03% -
  Total Valid Votes   303,176 100% 53
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1953
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1961
   General Election Results 1964
   General Election Results 1968
   General Election Results 1973
   General Election Results 1980
   General Election Results 1985
   General Election Results 1992
   General Election Results 1997
   General Election Results 2001
   General Election Results 2006
   General Election Results 2011
   General Election Results 2015
  A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (APNU+APC)
  People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)
  The United Force (TUF)
  Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP)
  Independent Party's (IP)
  National Independent Party (NIP)
  Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP)
  United Republican Party (URP)
Download APNNU-AFC 2015 Manifesto
Download PPP/C 2015 Manifesto
Download TUF 2015 Manifesto
Download URP 2015 Manifesto
Download Guyana Knowledge Centre
Learn more Guyana Heads of State
Learn more Guyana Prime Ministers
Learn more Guyana Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Guyana Elections Commission
2016 Party Key
A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC); People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C); Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP); Independent Party (IP); National Independent Party (NIP); Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP); The United Force (TUF); United Republican Party (URP); Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM)
Party Codes          
A Good and Green Guyana AGGG Justice Party JP People’s National Congress/Reform PNC/R
Alliance for Change AFC Liberal Democratic LD People’s Progressive Party  PPP
Alliance for Guyana AFG Liberator Party LP People’s Republic Party PRP
Democratic Labour Movement DLM National Democratic Front NDF People's Progressive Party/Civic PPP/C
God Bless Guyana GBG National Front Alliance NFA Rise Organise And Rebuild ROAR
Guiana National Party GNP National Independent Party NIP The United Force TUF
Guyana Action Party/Rise Organise And Rebuild GAP/ROAR National Labour Front NLF Union of Guyanese International UGI
Guyana Action Party/Working People’s Alliance GAP/WPA National Republican Party NRP United Democratic Party UDP
Guyana Democratic Party GDP Peace, Equality and Prosperity Party PEPP United Republican Party URP
Guyana National Congress GNC People’s Democratic Movement PDM United Workers Party UWP
Guyana United Muslim Party GUMP People’s National Congress PNC Working People’s Alliance WPA
Independents IND People’s National Congress PNC/R
Justice for All People JFAP People’s National Congress Reform - 1 Guyana PNCR-IG
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us