Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Political Parties Electoral Districts Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 9 December 1985

On 6 August 1985, President of the Republic Forbes Burnham died in office and was succeeded by Mr. Hugh Desmond Hoyte, who was also chosen as head of the ruling People's National Congress (PNC) party. Mr. Hamilton Green became Prime Minister.

The election date was set on 31 October 1985 and the campaign lasted five weeks. On polling day, Mr. Hoyte was declared elected as President and the socialist PNC captured 42 of the 53 popularly-chosen Assembly seats amid opposition charges of widespread fraud and electoral malpractices. The marxist People's Progressive Party (PPP), led by Mr. Cheddi Jagan, withdrew from contention but subsequent to the elections announced that it would occupy its eight seats won.

Voter turnout was 73.83%.

Mr. Hoyte was sworn in for a five-year presidential term on 12 December. He announced the formation of a new 11-member Cabinet on 28 January 1986.


Proportional Representation
53 elected seats
Total Valid Votes 291,195
Invalid Votes 3,606
Total Votes Cast 294,801
Registered Voters 399,304
Voter Turnout 73.83%
Dissolution of House Thu, 31 Oct 1985
Nomination Day -
Polling Day Mon, 09 Dec 1985
First Meeting of New Parliament Mon, 03 Feb 1986
  Political Group Code Votes % votes Seats
  People’s National Congress Winner PNC 228,718 78.54% 42
  People’s Progressive Party  PPP 45,926 15.77% 8
  The United Force TUF 9,820 3.37% 2
  Working People’s Alliance WPA 4,176 1.43% 1
  Democratic Labour Movement DLM 2,167 0.74% -
  National Democratic Front NDF 156 0.05% -
  People’s Democratic Movement PDM 232 0.08% -
  Total Valid Votes   291,195 100% 53
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1953
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1961
   General Election Results 1964
   General Election Results 1968
   General Election Results 1973
   General Election Results 1980
   General Election Results 1985
   General Election Results 1992
   General Election Results 1997
   General Election Results 2001
   General Election Results 2006
   General Election Results 2011
   General Election Results 2015
  A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (APNU+APC)
  People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)
  The United Force (TUF)
  Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP)
  Independent Party's (IP)
  National Independent Party (NIP)
  Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP)
  United Republican Party (URP)
Download APNNU-AFC 2015 Manifesto
Download PPP/C 2015 Manifesto
Download TUF 2015 Manifesto
Download URP 2015 Manifesto
Download Guyana Knowledge Centre
Learn more Guyana Heads of State
Learn more Guyana Prime Ministers
Learn more Guyana Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Guyana Elections Commission
2016 Party Key
A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC); People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C); Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP); Independent Party (IP); National Independent Party (NIP); Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP); The United Force (TUF); United Republican Party (URP); Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM)
Party Codes          
A Good and Green Guyana AGGG Justice Party JP People’s National Congress/Reform PNC/R
Alliance for Change AFC Liberal Democratic LD People’s Progressive Party  PPP
Alliance for Guyana AFG Liberator Party LP People’s Republic Party PRP
Democratic Labour Movement DLM National Democratic Front NDF People's Progressive Party/Civic PPP/C
God Bless Guyana GBG National Front Alliance NFA Rise Organise And Rebuild ROAR
Guiana National Party GNP National Independent Party NIP The United Force TUF
Guyana Action Party/Rise Organise And Rebuild GAP/ROAR National Labour Front NLF Union of Guyanese International UGI
Guyana Action Party/Working People’s Alliance GAP/WPA National Republican Party NRP United Democratic Party UDP
Guyana Democratic Party GDP Peace, Equality and Prosperity Party PEPP United Republican Party URP
Guyana National Congress GNC People’s Democratic Movement PDM United Workers Party UWP
Guyana United Muslim Party GUMP People’s National Congress PNC Working People’s Alliance WPA
Independents IND People’s National Congress PNC/R
Justice for All People JFAP People’s National Congress Reform - 1 Guyana PNCR-IG
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us