Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Political Parties Electoral Districts Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 27 April 1953

General elections were held in British Guiana on 27 April 1953 for the 24-seat House of Assembly under the "first past the post" system. They were the first held under universal suffrage.

Constitutional reforms as a result of the Waddington Commission had led to the creation of the House of Assembly to replace the Legislative Council. The new House had 28 members; 24 members elected in single member constituencies, a speaker appointed by the Governor and three ex officio members (the Chief Secretary, the Attorney General and the Financial Secretary).

The People's Progressive Party (PPP) ran candidates in 22 of the 24 constituencies, failing to contest the two interior constituencies due to a lack of money. The National Democratic Party (NDP) contested 15 constituencies and the People's National Party (PNP) eight. A total of 86 independents, including four United Guiana Party (UGP) candidates, also contested the elections. The United Workers and Farmers Party (UWFP) did run as a party, but contested some seats as independents.

The result was victory for the People's Progressive Party (PPP) winning 18 of the 24 seats in the Legislative Council and 51.04% of the vote. The National Democratic Party (NDP) won 2 seats, and the remaining 4 seats went to independents.

Voter turnout was 74.77%.

Post-election Note

On 9 October 1953, London suspended the colony's constitution. Following the suspension of the constitution, British Guiana was governed by an interim administration consisting of small group of conservative politicians, businessmen, and civil servants that lasted until 1957.

24 elected seats
Total Valid Votes 152,231
Invalid Votes 3,995
Total Votes Cast 156,226
Registered Voters 208,939
Voter Turnout 74.77%
Dissolution of House Wed, 8 Apr 1953
Nomination Day -
Polling Day Mon, 27 Apr 1953
First Meeting of New Parliament Mon, 18 May 1953
Official Results Download report
  Political Group Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
  People’s Progressive Party Winner PPP 77,695 51.04% 22 18
  National Democratic Party NDP 20,032 13.16% 16 2
  Peoples National Party PNP 3,000 1.97% 7 -
  Independent Candidates IND 51,504 33.83% 86 4
  Total Valid Votes   152,231 100% 131 24
No. Constituency Name Party
1  North West-District William Alfred Phang Independent
2  Pomeroon Thomas Sherwood Wheatling Independent
3  Western Essequibo Janet Jagan (Deputy Speaker) People’s Progressive Party
4  Essequibo Islands Theophilus Lee Independent
5  Bartica & Interior Eugene Francis Correia National Democratic Party
6  Demerara Essequibo Fred Browman People’s Progressive Party
7  West Bank Demerara Jai Narine Singh People’s Progressive Party
8  East Bank Demerara Dr. Joseph Prayag Lachhmansingh People’s Progressive Party
9  Upper Demerara River Charles Albert Carter Independent
10  Georgetown South Ashton Chase People’s Progressive Party
11  Georgetown South-Central Clinton Reginald Wong People’s Progressive Party
12  Georgetown Central Jessie Irma Sampson Burnham People’s Progressive Party
13  Georgetown North Frank Obermuller Van Sertima People’s Progressive Party
14  Georgetown North-East Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham People’s Progressive Party
15  West Central Demerara Ram Karran People’s Progressive Party
16  Central Demerara Sydney Evanson King (now Eusi Kwayana) People’s Progressive Party
17  East Central Demerara Jane Phillips-Gay People’s Progressive Party
18  Mahaica-Mahaicony Chandra Sama Persaud People’s Progressive Party
19  West Berbice Samuel Mahabali Latchmansingh People’s Progressive Party
20  New Amsterdam William Oscar Rudyard Kendall National Democratic Party
21  Berbice River Adjodia Singh People’s Progressive Party
22  Eastern Berbice Dr. Robert Stanley Hanoman Singh People’s Progressive Party
23  Corentyne Coast Dr. Cheddi Jagan People’s Progressive Party
24  Corentyne River Mohamed Khan People’s Progressive Party
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1953
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1961
   General Election Results 1964
   General Election Results 1968
   General Election Results 1973
   General Election Results 1980
   General Election Results 1985
   General Election Results 1992
   General Election Results 1997
   General Election Results 2001
   General Election Results 2006
   General Election Results 2011
   General Election Results 2015
  A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (APNU+APC)
  People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)
  The United Force (TUF)
  Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP)
  Independent Party's (IP)
  National Independent Party (NIP)
  Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP)
  United Republican Party (URP)
Download APNNU-AFC 2015 Manifesto
Download PPP/C 2015 Manifesto
Download TUF 2015 Manifesto
Download URP 2015 Manifesto
Download Guyana Knowledge Centre
Learn more Guyana Heads of State
Learn more Guyana Prime Ministers
Learn more Guyana Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Guyana Elections Commission
2016 Party Key
A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC); People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C); Healing the Nation Theocracy Party (HTNTP); Independent Party (IP); National Independent Party (NIP); Organisation for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP); The United Force (TUF); United Republican Party (URP); Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM)
Party Codes          
A Good and Green Guyana AGGG Justice Party JP People’s National Congress/Reform PNC/R
Alliance for Change AFC Liberal Democratic LD People’s Progressive Party  PPP
Alliance for Guyana AFG Liberator Party LP People’s Republic Party PRP
Democratic Labour Movement DLM National Democratic Front NDF People's Progressive Party/Civic PPP/C
God Bless Guyana GBG National Front Alliance NFA Rise Organise And Rebuild ROAR
Guiana National Party GNP National Independent Party NIP The United Force TUF
Guyana Action Party/Rise Organise And Rebuild GAP/ROAR National Labour Front NLF Union of Guyanese International UGI
Guyana Action Party/Working People’s Alliance GAP/WPA National Republican Party NRP United Democratic Party UDP
Guyana Democratic Party GDP Peace, Equality and Prosperity Party PEPP United Republican Party URP
Guyana National Congress GNC People’s Democratic Movement PDM United Workers Party UWP
Guyana United Muslim Party GUMP People’s National Congress PNC Working People’s Alliance WPA
Independents IND People’s National Congress PNC/R
Justice for All People JFAP People’s National Congress Reform - 1 Guyana PNCR-IG
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us