Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 15 February 2010

General elections were held in Anguilla on Monday, 15 February 2010.  Seven seats in the Anguilla House of Assembly were contested in the election.

In 2009, the year before the election, Chief Minister Osbourne Fleming, who was also the leader of the Anguilla United Front (AUF), announced that he would not stand for re-election in the 2010 race. Two other members of the ruling AUF also announced their intent to retire as well - Parliamentary Secretary Albert Hughes and Communications and Works Minister Kenneth Harrigan.  Collectively, Fleming, Hughes and Harrigan had been active in Anguillan politics for more than 80 years.  It was announced that Finance Minister Victor Banks would succeed Fleming as the party leader of the AUF coalition.

According to the Constitution of Anguilla, the general election was due to be held by March 2010. However, the election could have been postponed until as late as May or June 2010.

On Monday, 4 January 2010, the last day of the current Assembly, the leader of government business held talks with the Governor of Anguilla, Alistair Harrison, concerning the dissolution of the legislative body to pave the way for new elections.

Retiring Chief Minister Osbourne Fleming officially set 15 February 2010, as the date for the election during a public meeting of the ruling Anguilla United Front (AUF) in Blowing Point held on January 5, 2010. Colville Petty, the supervisor of elections, reported that 8,652 voters were registered to vote in the seven electoral districts on the island.  That marked an increase in voter registration from the 2005 general election, when 7,558 people registered to vote.  
Twenty candidates registered to contest the seven Assembly seats in the election.  The Anguilla United Front, the ruling coalition which controlled the majority of the seven seats in the Assembly since the 2005 election, fielded candidates in all seven constituencies. The opposition Anguilla United Movement contested five constituencies.  The opposition Anguilla Progressive Party also had candidates in five of the seven races.  Three independents also ran as candidates for seats in the Assembly.

The incumbent AUF was defeated, and former Chief Minister Hubert Hughes was sworn in to succeed Fleming as Chief Minister on 16 February 1010.

Voter turnout was 82.1%.

Directly after the election, Jerome Roberts, the sole winning candidate of the APP joined the AUM as a cabinet minister.


Expand Map
Total Valid Votes 7,063
Invalid Votes 39
Total Votes Cast 7,102
Registered Voters 8,654
Voter Turnout 82.07%
Dissolution of House Wed, 06 Jan 2010
Nomination Day Thu, 21 Jan 2010
Polling Day Mon, 15 Feb 2010
  Photo Brent DAVIS
Anguilla Progressive Party (APP)
  Photo Victor BANKS
Anguilla United Front (AUF)
  Photo Hubert HUGHES
Anguilla United Movement (AUM) Winner
Download Download
Summary Results by Party
14.71% of votes
39.37% of votes
32.68% of votes
13.24% of votes
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
Anguilla Progressive Party APP 1,039 14.71% 5 1
Anguilla United Front AUF 2,781 39.37% 7 2
Anguilla United Movement AUM 2,308 32.68% 5 4
Independents IND 935 13.24% 3 0
Total Valid Votes 7,063 100% 20 7
Election in Graphs
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Summary Results by Constituency
Electoral District  Registered voters APP AUF AUM IND Valid Votes Invalid Votes Total Votes Turnout
District 1: Island Harbour 1,347 245 383 215 281 1,124 8 1,132 84.04%
District 2: Sandy Hill 710 317 276 - - 593 5 598 84.23%
District 3: Valley North 1,653 - 679 - 654 1,333 7 1,340 81.06%
District 4: Valley South 1,788 - 677 788 - 1,465 5 1,470 82.21%
District 5: Road North 938 37 236 488 - 761 7 768 81.88%
District 6: Road South 1,372 257 352 504 - 1,113 5 1,118 81.49%
District 7:West End 846 183 178 313 - 674 2 676 79.91%
Total 8,654 1,039 2,781 2,308 935 7,063 39 7,102 82.07%
Detailed Results by Constituency
District 1:
Island Harbour
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  WEBSTER, Palmavon APP 245 21.80%
  VANTERPOOL, Othlyn Winner AUF 383 34.07%
  WEBSTER, Samuel E. AUM 215 19.13%
  HARRIGAN, Terry T. IND 236 21.00%
  HODGE, Kennedy W. IND 45 4.00%
District 2:
Sandy Hill
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  ROBERTS, Jerome Winner APP 317 53.46%
  RICARDSON-HODGE, Cora AUF 276 46.54%
District 3:
Valley North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  ROGERS, Evans M. Winner AUF 679 50.94%
  HODGE, Sutcliffe IND 654 49.06%
District 4:
Valley South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  BANKS, Victor AUF 677 46.21%
  GUMBS, Evans Winner AUM 788 53.79%
District 5:
Road North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  LEWIS, Fabian Arrindel APP 37 4.86%
  DELSIC, Rey AUF 236 31.01%
  BAIRD, Edison Winner AUM 488 64.13%
District 6:
Road South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  DAVIS, Brent APP 257 23.09%
  RICHARDSON, Curtis A. AUF 352 31.63%
  HUGHES, Hubert B. Winner AUM 504 45.28%
District 7:
West End
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  HODGE, Wilmoth O. APP 183 27.15%
  RICHARDSON, Kenswick AUF 178 26.41%
  RICHARDSON, Walcott Winner AUM 313 46.44%
Elected Members of the House of Assembly
The unicameral House of Assembly was comprised of 7 elected members.
Electoral District Representative Party
District 1: Island Harbour VANTERPOOL, Othlyn   Anguilla United Front
District 2: Sandy Hill ROBERTS, Jerome   Anguilla Progressive Party
District 3: Valley North ROGERS, Evans   Anguilla United Front
District 4: Valley South GUMBS, Evans   Anguilla United Movement
District 5: Road North BAIRD, Edison   Anguilla United Movement
District 6: Road South HUGHES, Hubert Benjamin   Anguilla United Movement
District 7:West End RICHARDSON, Walcott   Anguilla United Movement
AUF = Anguilla United Front; AUM = Anguilla United Movement; DOVE = The DOVE Party; IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
 General Election 1972
 General Election 1976
 General Election 1980
 General Election 1981
 General Election 1984
 General Election 1989
 General Election 1994
 General Election 1999
 General Election 2000
 General Election 2005
 General Election 2010
 General Election 2015
AUF Anguilla United Front (AUF)
AUM Anguilla United Movement (AUM)
Download AUF 2015 Manifesto
Download AUM 2015 Manifesto
Download Pam Webster2015 Manifesto
Download Anguilla Knowledge Centre
Learn more Voter Lookup
Learn more Anguilla Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us