Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 8 February 2005

General elections were held in Anguilla on Monday, 21 February 2005.

In the 2000 Anguillan general election the governing Anguilla United Party (AUP) was defeated by a coalition of the Anguilla National Alliance (ANA) and the Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP). Together the two parties won four of the seven elected seats and the leader of the Anguilla National Alliance, Osbourne Fleming, became Chief Minister of Anguilla.  In May 2004 the leadership of the opposition passed from Hubert Hughes, leader of the Anguilla United Movement (AUM) party, to Edison Baird, leader of the Anguilla Strategic Alliance (ANSA). This came after one member of the House of Assembly, Albert Hughes, changed parties.

The three major parties contesting the 2005 election were the Anguilla United Front (AUF), headed by Fleming, the Anguilla United Movement (AUM), which is led by Hubert Hughes and Edison Baird's Anguilla National Strategic Alliance (ANSA).  Fleming's government, which was a coalition of the Anguilla National Alliance and the Anguilla Democratic Party, previously held four seats in the Assembly; ANSA, two; and the AUM, one.

More than 7,500 of the island's 12,000 population were registered to vote in the elections in which 25 candidates were vying for the seven seats at stake.  Issues ranging from economic diversification to bad governance had highlighted the campaign for the polls.

The ruling Anguilla United Front (AUF) was returned to office, winning four of the seven seats contested in the elections. Chief Minister Osborne Fleming led his party to victory over the Anguilla United Movement (AUM), headed by former Chief Minister Hubert Hughes, the Anguilla National Alliance (ANA), led by Edison Beard, and the Anguilla Progressive Party (APP), headed by Brent Davis. The three opposition parties won one seat each.

All six incumbents who sought re-election kept their seats in the election. The only change took place in Valley North where the previous representative, Eric Reid, stood down and was succeeded by Evans McNeil Rogers.

The day after the election was declared a national holiday and the four elected members of the Anguilla United Front were sworn into government by the Governor Alan Huckle. Following the election, Albert Hughes, left the Anguilla Strategic Alliance and joined the government. This meant the opposition was evenly split between the Anguilla Strategic Alliance and the Anguilla United Movement, so the Governor did not appoint a Leader of the Opposition.

Expand Map
Total Valid Votes 5,569
Invalid Votes 61
Total Votes Cast 5,630
Registered Voters 7,558
Voter Turnout 74.79%
Nomination Day Tue, 08 Feb 2005
Polling Day Mon, 21 Feb 2005
  Photo Brent DAVIS
Anguilla Progressive Party (APP)
  Photo Edison BAIRD
Anguilla Strategic Alliance (ANSA)
  Photo Osbourne FLEMING Antigua United Front (AUF) Winner
  Photo Hubert HUGHES
Anguilla United Movement (AUM)
Summary Results by Party
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
Anguilla Progressive Party APP 497 8.92% 4 0
Anguilla Strategic Alliance ANSA 1,076 19.32% 4 2
Anguilla United Front AUF 2,177 39.09% 5 4
Anguilla United Movement AUM 1,088 19.54% 5 1
Independents IND 731 13.13% 10 0
Total Valid Votes 5,569 100% 28 7
Election in Graphs
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Summary Results by Constituency
Electoral District APP ANSA AUF AUM IND Valid Votes
District 1: Island Harbour - - 459 - 311 770
District 2: Sandy Hill 107 - 309 33 - 449
District 3: Valley North - 354 609 - 254 1,217
District 4: Valley South - - 539 349 108 996
District 5: Road North 22 338 261 147 - 768
District 6: Road South 241 224 - 420 58 943
District 7:West End 127 160 - 139 - 426
Total 497 1,076 2,177 1,088 731 5,569
Detailed Results by Constituency
District 1:
Island Harbour
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  HARRIGAN, Kenneth Winner AUF 459 59.61%
  HODGE, Joshua IND 167 21.69%
  WEBSTER-BOURNE, Barbara J. IND 102 13.25%
  HODGE, Londrade IND 42 5.45%
District 2:
Sandy Hill
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  ROBERTS, Jerome APP 107 23.83%
  FLEMING, Osbourne B. Winner AUF 309 68.82%
  HODGE, George C. AUM 33 7.35%
District 3:
Valley North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  HODGE, Ralph VC ANSA 354 29.09%
  ROGERS, Evans Winner AUF 609 50.04%
  ROGERS, Leroy C. IND 211 17.34%
  HODGE, Valencia RC IND 43 3.53%
District 4:
Valley South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  BANKS, Victor Winner AUF 539 54.12%
  GUMBS, Evans AUM 349 35.04%
  GUMBS, Iwandai IND 108 10.84%
District 5:
Road North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  EDWARDS, Anne J. APP 22 2.86%
  BAIRD, Edison Winner ANSA 338 44.01%
  RICHARDSON, Rhonda AUF 261 33.98%
  HUGHES, Hadyn AUM 147 19.14%
District 6:
Road South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  DAVIS, Brent APP 241 25.56%
  RICHARDSON, Curtis ANSA 224 23.75%
  HUGHES, Hubert B. Winner AUM 420 44.54%
  GUMBS, Jere A. IND 58 6.15%
District 7:
West End
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  HODGE, Wilmoth APP 127 29.81%
  HUGHES, Albert E. Winner ANSA 160 37.56%
  RICHARDSON, Walcott AUM 139 32.63%
Elected Members of the House of Assembly
The unicameral House of Assembly was comprised of 7 elected members.
Electoral District Representative Party
District 1: Island Harbour HARRIGAN, Kenneth   Anguilla United Front
District 2: Sandy Hill FLEMING, Osbourne B.   Anguilla United Front
District 3: Valley North ROGERS, Evans   Anguilla United Front
District 4: Valley South BANKS, Victor   Anguilla United Front
District 5: Road North BAIRD, Edison   Anguilla Strategic Alliance
District 6: Road South HUGHES, Hubert Benjamin   Anguilla United Movement
District 7:West End HUGHES, Albert E.   Anguilla Strategic Alliance
AUF = Anguilla United Front; AUM = Anguilla United Movement; DOVE = The DOVE Party; IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
 General Election 1972
 General Election 1976
 General Election 1980
 General Election 1981
 General Election 1984
 General Election 1989
 General Election 1994
 General Election 1999
 General Election 2000
 General Election 2005
 General Election 2010
 General Election 2015
AUF Anguilla United Front (AUF)
AUM Anguilla United Movement (AUM)
Download AUF 2015 Manifesto
Download AUM 2015 Manifesto
Download Pam Webster2015 Manifesto
Download Anguilla Knowledge Centre
Learn more Voter Lookup
Learn more Anguilla Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us