Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
General Election Results - 16 March 1994

General elections were held in Anguilla on Wednesday, 16 March 1994.

Despite a large drop in the Anguilla United Party's (AUP) percentage of the vote, the loss of the Road North constituency to the Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP) gave the second and third parties enough seats to form a coalition government. Hubert Hughes of the Anguilla United Party (AUP), who had stood on a pro-independence platform, was appointed Chief Minister following the election.  The small Anguilla for Good Government (AGG) party replaced Party for Anguilla's Culturation and Economy (PACE) as the fourth party, but like its predecessor, failed to win representation. The future Chief Minister, Osbourne Fleming held his seat of Sandy Hill as an independent.

Following the general election in February 1994 a coalition government was formed between the Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP) and the Anguilla United Party (AUP), each of which held two of the seven seats in the House of Assembly. The AUP leader, Hubert Hughes, was appointed chief minister.

Voter turnout was 72.2%.

The AUP leader, Hubert Hughes, 57, was sworn in as Chief Minister on 18 March 1994. 

Expand Map
Total Valid Votes 4,351
Invalid Votes 144
Total Votes Cast 4,495
Registered Voters 5,980
Voter Turnout 75.17%
Nomination Day -
Polling Day Wed, 16 Mar 1994
  Photo Victor BANKS
Anguilla Democratic Party (ADP)
  Photo Ronald WEBSTER
Anguilla for Good Governance (AGG)
  Photo Osbourne FLEMING
Anguilla National Alliance (ANA)
  Photo Hubert HUGHES
Anguilla United Party (AUP) Winner
Summary Results by Party
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
Anguilla Democratic Party ADP 1,348 30.98% 5 2
Anguilla National Alliance ANA 1,608 36.96% 5 2
Anguilla United Party AUP 540 12.41% 4 2
Anguilla for Good Government AGG 520 11.95% 2 0
Independents IND 335 7.70% 3 1
Total Valid Votes 4,351 100% 19 7
Election in Graphs
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Expand Graph Expand Graph
Summary Results by Constituency
Electoral District  ADP ANA AUP AGG IND Valid Votes
District 1: Island Harbour - 438 - 328 22 788
District 2: Sandy Hill - - - 192 250 442
District 3: Valley North 402 441 - - - 843
District 4: Valley South 525 307 18 - - 850
District 5: Road North 294 257 28 - - 579
District 6: Road South 12 165 308 - 63 548
District 7:West End 115 - 186 - - 301
Total 1,348 1,608 540 520 335 4,351
Detailed Results by Constituency
District 1:
Island Harbour
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  HODGE, Londrade AGG 328 41.62%
  HARRIGAN, Kenneth Winner ANA 438 55.58%
  WEBSTER, Cuthwin IND 22 2.79%
District 2:
Sandy Hill
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  WEBSTER, Ronald AGG 192 43.44%
  FLEMING, Osbourne B. Winner IND 250 56.56%
District 3:
Valley North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  ROGERS, Leroy C. ADP 402 47.69%
  REID, Eric Winner ANA 441 52.31%
District 4:
Valley South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  BANKS, Victor Winner ADP 525 61.76%
  LAKE, Merrit ANA 307 36.12%
  LAKE, Evan R. AUP 18 2.12%
District 5:
Road North
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  BAIRD, Edison Winner ADP 294 50.78%
  CARTY, David ANA 257 44.39%
  FRANKLIN, Restormel AUP 28 4.84%
District 6:
Road South
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  CONNOR, Samuel ADP 112 17.28%
  ROMNEY, Everet ANA 165 25.46%
  HUGHES, Hubert B. Winner AUP 308 47.53%
  GUMBS, Alan IND 63 9.72%
District 7:
West End
View results for constituency
  Candidate Party Votes % votes
  RICHARDSON, Kenswick ADP 115 38.21%
  HUGHES, Albert E. Winner AUP 186 61.79%
Elected Members of the House of Assembly
The unicameral House of Assembly was comprised of 7 elected members.
Electoral District Representative Party
District 1: Island Harbour HARRIGAN, Kenneth   Anguilla National Alliance
District 2: Sandy Hill FLEMING, Osbourne B.   Independent
District 3: Valley North REID, Eric   Anguilla National Alliance
District 4: Valley South BANKS, Victor   Anguilla Democratic Party
District 5: Road North BAIRD, Edison   Anguilla Democratic Party
District 6: Road South HUGHES, Hubert Benjamin   Anguilla United Party
District 7:West End HUGHES, Albert E.   Anguilla United Party
AUF = Anguilla United Front; AUM = Anguilla United Movement; DOVE = The DOVE Party; IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
 General Election 1972
 General Election 1976
 General Election 1980
 General Election 1981
 General Election 1984
 General Election 1989
 General Election 1994
 General Election 1999
 General Election 2000
 General Election 2005
 General Election 2010
 General Election 2015
AUF Anguilla United Front (AUF)
AUM Anguilla United Movement (AUM)
Download AUF 2015 Manifesto
Download AUM 2015 Manifesto
Download Pam Webster2015 Manifesto
Download Anguilla Knowledge Centre
Learn more Voter Lookup
Learn more Anguilla Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us